Upgrading from Older Versions of MCEBuddy

documentation

(Administrator) #1

NOTES ON UPGRADING (UNINSTALLING/REINSTALLING) FROM OLDER VERSIONS

  • If your CURRENT installed version is 2.2.3 or newer MCEBuddy preserves the History file and transfers the settings from your MCEBuddy.conf while uninstalling/reinstalling. MCEBuddy also backsup the configuration files (mcebuddy.conf and profiles.conf) as a safety measure. The files are placed in the installation directory with an “.old” extension. PLEASE DO NOT BLINDLY REPLACE THE NEW CONFIGURATION FILES WITH THE OLD FILES AS PARAMETERS IN THE NEW FILES ARE ADDED/UPDATED WITH REACH RELEASE.
  • If your CURRENT installed version is 2.2.6 or newer MCEBuddy preserves the Comskip.ini file restores the file while uninstalling/reinstalling. (as of 2.3.1 it is restored as comskip.ini.old)
  • If your CURRENT installed version is 2.2.1 or older then you need to manually backup and restore the coniguration files (mcebuddy.conf and profiles.conf) if you wish to preserve your settings. PLEASE DO NOT BLINDLY REPLACE THE NEW CONFIGURATION FILES WITH THE OLD FILES AS PARAMETERS IN THE NEW FILES ARE ADDED/UPDATED WITH REACH RELEASE.
  • If you CURRENT installed version is 2.1.5 or older, if you would like to MCEBuddy NOT to re-convert all your files again, make a backup copy of the History file in the config directory (C:\Program Files\MCEBuddy\config\History) before uninstalling the old version and restore it back there after installing the new version.
  • If you CURRENT installed version is 2.1.5 or older, delete the MCEBuddy installation directory C:\Program Files\MCEBuddy after uninstalling MCEBuddy and before installing the new version

(Administrator) #2

(Administrator) #3