QSV Encoding with Latest 2.5.1_BETA - HandBrakeCLI-1.0.7 vs 1.1.2 vs 1.2.2

I have been using MCEBuddy for over 5 years now and noticed in the latest 2.5.1_BETA handbrake QSV encoding is much slower than previous handbrake versions. I know that you recently updated the version of handbrake and that this is most likely the cause.

In my testing, I see HandBrakeCLI-1.0.7 processes videos at around 100fps and versions after that (HandBrakeCLI-1.1.0 - 1.2.2) have much lower FPS (20fps to 50fps). Additionally, CPU usage with QSV for handbrake 1.0.7 is around 25-50%, while newer handbrakes take almost 100% of my CPU. I believe this is because of changes handbrake made with QSV detection and support for x265 encoding.

I am running MCEBuddy x64 on my Windows 7 x64 machine with an Intel Core i5-4690K Haswell CPU @ 3.50GHz.

I have attached four logs to show the differences in performance. Are there any other ways to improve QSV performance besides replacing the handbrakeCLI.exe to the older version on this PC?

MCEBuddy - Good Day NY - Handbrake 1.0.7.log (686.4 KB)
MCEBuddy - Good Day NY - Handbrake 1.1.1.log (682.3 KB)
MCEBuddy - Price is Right - Handbrake 1.0.7.log (707.9 KB)
MCEBuddy - Price is Right - Handbrake 1.1.2.log (721.7 KB)

Try changing your profile to use ffmpeg first (with the latest build), see how it performs.

Handbrake changed it’s libraries starting 1.1 so it’s possible the new libraries aren’t working as well for your hardware as the older ones. It’s also possible that your graphics drivers aren’t working as well with the new libraries (try changing the drivers) - it’s essentially the drivers and libraries compatibility that determines the performance/stability.

I noticed that your system has both AMD and Intel hardware encoders:

→ Detected hardware encoder capability →
{
“hardwareBrand”: “Intel”,
“codecType”: “Encoder”,
“hardwareCodecPresent”: true,
“h265Codec”: false,
“h264Codec”: true
}
→ Detected hardware encoder capability →
{